SendAnn

All paths lead nowhere, choose with heart

it means non-violence ps i wanna be the swan next time October 8, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — sendann @ 11:12 pm
Tags: , ,

 

 

OOOOO I forgot to tell you! I’m working with the young, lovely company Yama Climbing as a member of their athlete ambassador posse. I did an interview and a blog post about my long, boulderful drive from Houston to Tahoe for them, and will be regularly reporting and musing on their site and facebook page. Yama specializes in colorful soft goods and bouldering accoutrements – sports bags, hats, chalk buckets, and so on. They do some custom work and offer free shipping in the US. I’m really stoked to be a part of the company. I’m hoping that one tangible contribution I make this season will be inspiring a line of leg warmers.

 

vanessa and I decided that all female climbers secretly (or openly) long to be ballerinas. And all guys, pro skaters.

I was in a yoga class recently, and they said that the word “Yama” means self-control, discipline, and non-violence. I’m not sure if that’s what Jezryl and her team had in mind when they named their company, but I think the concept really speaks to what I’ve been working on in my climbing (and non-climbing) life. I feel like there must be a way to be dedicated to climbing and continuously pushing my limits without throwing tantrums, snapping at my companions, complaining, going on psychotic training tangents, or otherwise flailing from within. I’m searching for it now, and keeping the concept of Yama, and Yama Climbings beautiful things close to me as a reminder, is part of the mission.

 

So next time you’re shopping for things, consider clicking some Yama.

 

Thanks!

 

One Response to “it means non-violence ps i wanna be the swan next time”

  1. Ron Nance Says:

    Awesome pic! I had a signed copy of this in my workout room for years and moved it to my classroom when I began teaching. BTW–Dancers had the highest pain tolerance of athletes in a study conducted in the late 90s. In short, dancers are hardcore.


Leave a Reply

