SendAnn

All paths lead nowhere, choose with heart

norfeaster! August 20, 2012

Filed under: Climbing,Picture Taking,Trips — sendann @ 3:56 pm
Tags: , , ,

Ugh, that title is suppose to be like, ‘I’m in the northeast and it’s a feast of boulders and fun with friends” but I think it’s kind of not working. Hi!!

I’ve been back in New England for a little over two weeks, mostly in Vermont but traveling a bit to see friends and climb. I’ve been lots of places and have lots to tell,  to the point where it’s kind of overwhelming. I went to Maine, where I sport climbed and surfed. I’ve been bouldering at the Burlington gym Petra Cliffs a few times with these two 12-year old girls who are super psyched, and I just got back from a visit to French Canadia to see Ashley Veevers and the Montreal crue, so I guess I’ll start there.

Ashley had never been to Smugglers Notch, so we took an afternoon to go down and I gave her the tour, as far as I was able. We took tons of pictures. I’m trying to earn the new dslr I’m hoping to buy by committing to taking lots of pictures with my crappy kodak that everyone thinks is a phone but is actually so much worse at taking stills than a phone. Some kind of ‘if you wanted pictures so bad you’d take them with whatever you had’ kinda idea. Pretty bad tho :o. But our Smuggs afternoon was amazing, I did a few lines I hadn’t tried on my last trip, and redid my favorite problem in the region, ‘Primate 2001 (V3)’ a few more times. So good that thing.

 

kind of crappy view of Primate, a lovely line

 

me on a mystery face line at smuggs

ashley veevers on ‘Duck Soup,’ part of this incredibly fun slab/face line circuit at smugglers notch

ashley on the ‘workout boulder’ and probably the best pic of the day. omg ‘pic of the day’ hahaha! i need help.

After climbing we went to Pie in the Sky pizza and came up with the most amazing toppings combo: feta, banana peppers, and bacon. It was like a greek cob salad on pizza.

.
So that was one wonderful part of the northeastern trip. More to come!!

.
Today I’m trying to decide if I want to go down to the southern Adirondacks and try to find Nine Corners Lake or Snowy Mountain bouldering zones, or just chillax in Burlington for a day. Either way, I’m heading out for family visits this week/end, then short stops to climb with southerners on my way down to Houston, where I’m planning to give my climbing bones an extended rest while I focus on antagonistic muscle conditioning, general physical and spiritual fitness, and mend all my crash pads and clothes for the fall!

 

Leave a Reply

