SendAnn

All paths lead nowhere, choose with heart

summer wrapper May 1, 2011

Filed under: Crafty,Trips — sendann @ 3:21 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I started a new yarn proj this week, since I haven’t replaced my stolen sewing machine yet and I’m craftless going stir crazy. Also, I want some kind of accessory for the warmer temps, other than purses and jewelry, which is all fun but a bit more of an effort for me. I had to do something! I have a scarf for warm days that I got in Sri Lanka, the kind made to go with a salwar.

I plan to wear nothing but the salwar kameez starting at age 54

but mine is very wide, and a rather restrictive pale blue color. I want something similar, with a little glitter, in a versatile color for my wardrobe.  I found some white, cotton yarn with red, pink, purple and blue paint specs in it, and some similarly-toned sparkle beads.

I’m making a long, narrow, loose-stitched scarfy thing with the beads woven in. It’s 25 stitches across, with this double-chain-then-single-crochet pattern I made up. I’m hoping it will fold once vertically and be long enough to wrap loose around my neck once with tails that stay in place, or hang open and not be ridiculously long. The beads are pretty subtle among the weave, kind of a secret sparkle thing. It’s very soft and hopefully will be perfect for cool summer mornings in Squamish. I’ll post up when I debut the results! Here it is after I figured out the pattern and got going…

see the one pink bead in the center? They are repeated at about that interval.

 

Leave a Reply

