SendAnn

All paths lead nowhere, choose with heart

all back up in training April 27, 2011

Filed under: Climbing,Domestic Projects,Trips — sendann @ 3:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

It’s almost exactly a month before my summer trip takes off, I’ve done a few projects in town, and I already explained about the lake. So climbing is over, and here’s my plan: Try hard not to get any climby-tweaks, and do minimal-impact workouts every day, some days a lot some days a little. The idea is, one, not to get bored, and two, to get used to being super active and strong for many hours in a row.

,

So it pretty much started yesterday. Sometimes I think I’d like to motivate to do something, but it seems really far off. Then I shut off part of my mind, think about something else, and poof, I’m where I thought I wouldn’t motivate to be. Yesterday I swam seriously for the first time this year at Deep Eddy. I can’t remember what I was working up to last year, but I started with what I thought was pretty chill, 2 sets of 5 ‘down-n-backs’ with a 10 minute rest in between. I did mostly crawl, with a little breaststroke in there, although the frog kick aggravates this little heel-hook tweak I have going on in my knee, so I’m doing it with butterfly stroke style legs, which makes it the slowest stroke possible, very heavy on the arms.

,

So I’ll plan to swim 3 times a week, and keep note of my lappage here and see if I improve! It was so good to be back in the water, doing my little psychiatric endurance training thing. Sadly, my free neighborhood pool Givens Park isn’t open until June 8th. Deep Eddy costs a few bucks, but I have a good few weeks left on my pass.

,

The other parts of my super training month will be, for the next two weeks at least, massive Pilates to prepare for my exam, P90x ab ripper, circuit at the gymnastics gym before my classes, and a light free weights and theraband routine I’m working on. Also, this elaborate, ‘harnessing the feminine’ prayer, meditation and movement thing I’m sort of doing/sort of inventing from multiple sources.

,

,

Some of my other goals for the month are:

Stop using the word “Really”

Somehow fit all my favorite house-y things that I cannot get rid of into my parents house for safe-keeping

Crush my Pilates certification exam

Research and draw a plan for a 3-day (peyote-free) vision quest with a slant toward enhancing my feminine spirit

Stop participating in the hurtful, demeaning act that is gossip, or making myself a party to it by sharing personal information with folks who do

At least two more days in the ocean

More on these to follow. Thanks!

xo

 

2 Responses to “all back up in training”

  1. Lauren Says:

    butterfly kick with breast stroke pull. way better on the knees/IT Band.


Leave a Reply

