SendAnn

All paths lead nowhere, choose with heart

April 21, 2011

Filed under: Climbing — sendann @ 4:05 pm
Tags:

Either Fresh Air with Terry Gross has been particularly amazing all month, or I’m in one of my “easily taken by a performance” phases. Either is possible, but every episode has rocked me lately. Last Thursday Michelle Williams was the guest. She said this interesting thing about working as an actor that made me think, naturally, of myself and of climbing, even though I haven’t been climbing as long as she’s been acting, or as long as a lot of my friends have been climbing (or acting or working) still.

Work is something that I’ve always done. It’s been something very consistent in my life since I was in my early teens, and it’s carried me through so many situations where I think I might have gotten stuck, either because it would geographically transport me or it would give me a purpose or it would give me something to cling to, think about, enjoy, get better at.

She goes on to point out that she kept working through a very hard time and eventually realized she needed a year off.

 

Leave a Reply

