SendAnn

All paths lead nowhere, choose with heart

you can totally stop my shine, actually March 3, 2011

Filed under: Climbing — sendann @ 7:59 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’m going through kind of a klutzy phase, and it came to some kind of apex on Tuesday when I took my first ever horrible ground fall. Typical headstrong stupid rock climber behavior, I was circuiting at McKinney by myself listening to Jason Derulo.

My current “alone at Mk” circuit is this: Traverse high, traverse low, traverse wherever with no feet, then do the lunge, the two worth doing, and the monopop from as low down as I can pull on, do all of those twice. Then the prow with sloppy big shoes on, then power slide minus the last move. Then I move down and go into a ‘single moves and systems’ thing on harder problems I don’t want to do without a spot. I figure it’s a good use to my time to dial the insecure low moves so I don’t waste time when I do have a cohort. I practice starting and hardest moves on el camino left, qg, seige tactics from low, trap freak and geek. I try each move like 5-10 times each, hopefully hitting it 40%, then I go home.

But I guess Jason Derulo gave me some false swaggar or something, because when I was doing the first little part of seige tactics, which is not super hard but kind of painful and inconsistent, I thought ‘why don’t I just stick my foot up here by my hand and see if I can balance — NOPE.’ I fell on my right hip onto a rock, missing the stupid pad. It hurt so bad, and it took forever to get my headphones off which made it worse. Once I realized I wasn’t paralyzed or broken, I started ranting out loud about how lucky I am, and dragged myself out of there.

I think I’m fine, psychologically. It was just such pure idiocy and ego, and I don’t feel hesitant to get back on. My butt hurts and I have a huge gnarly bruise, but it feels a little better every day, so hopefully I’ll be in gear again by Sunday. It’s only a little worse than the time I fell off of the boat onto the slab/water at Amistad, banging my knee and scraping my thigh to high hell.

 

behold the ugliness, inside and out on this one

It’s bad enough that I blew off climbing at Reimers with Mike Personick et al today. It’s so pricey to get into that place, I can’t fork over 10$ for the pleasure of hobbling around and not being able to flex my right leg. OH! I went out with Hannah on Monday and finally did Raindance, so that gave me a nice five-twelve feeling. Everything else is fine. I hate looking at this picture, actually. It was a low moment on a rough trip. But then again, remembering lousy times also makes me happy, because they’re over.  Told me get my ish together, well now I’ve got my ish together. I’m jumpin in my ride and wearing shades etc.

 

Leave a Reply

